Stellarium’s Satellites plug-in: Some gain, some lose

I am supposed to be doing anything but programming. Instead, today I spent most of my time writing code for Stellarium. I lose.

When I’m working on Stellarium, I am also supposed to be working on the Device Control plug-in (the descendent of the Telescope Control plug-in), and in particular, on re-writing its INDI client. Instead, today I spent most of my time writing a simple GUI for adding satellites in the Satellite plug-in. Telescope users lose. Satellite lovers gain. Well, after my branch is merged with the trunk. The merge proposal is here:
https://code.launchpad.net/~daggerstab/stellarium/satellites-import-gui/+merge/87865

This morning I though that I can finish the basic part for two hours. It took me more than ten. 😦 Of course, one of the reasons is that I’m working on a netbook and operations such as compilation, version control and code comparison are slow. I also had to study other people’s code and re-factor some of it. Nevertheless… It’s still ten hours of my life that I’m not getting back.

Anyway, I have some ideas for improving the way the Satellites plug-in handles its updates. Both require adding a checkbox to the configuration window and some code in the update function:

  • An option for automatic removing the satellites that are no longer in the update lists during an update.
  • An option for automatic adding of the new satellites in a given source file (in particular, CelesTrak’s “last month’s launches” file).

The combination of the two will allow the users to have a constantly updated snapshot of the currently active satellites. 🙂 I’m going to leave the implementation to someone else, though. I’ve had enough of Stellarium for now.

This entry was posted in Stellarium. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stellarium’s Satellites plug-in: Some gain, some lose

  1. dw says:

    I use both the telescope and satellite plugins. I can’t lose!
    (what’s this about the stellarium app being pulled from itunes? it’s very useful)

Comments are closed.